chat text
What To Do if You Are Involved in a Hit-and-Run Accident in Phoenix

What To Do if You Are Involved in a Hit-and-Run Accident in Phoenix

Shapiro Law Team February 27, 2024 Car Accidents

A hit-and-run accident can be a traumatic experience, leaving victims with physical injuries, emotional distress, and financial burdens. In cities like Phoenix, navigating the aftermath of a hit-and-run can be overwhelming.

Let’s cover the steps you need to take following a hit-and-run and how to take legal action with the help of Shapiro Law Team.

Arizona Hit-and-Run Laws

Understanding the legalities of hit-and-run accidents in Arizona is important for victims seeking justice. Arizona has stringent laws in place to address hit-and-run incidents, holding those who flee the scene accountable for their actions. One noteworthy law in this regard is ‘Joey’s Law,’ a law created to protect hit-and-run victims.

Protecting Hit-and-Run Victims With ‘Joey’s Law’

Named after a young hit-and-run victim named Joey Romero, ‘Joey’s Law’ was passed to address the rising concerns about hit-and-run incidents in Arizona. This law increased penalties for hit-and-run offenses, sending a strong message to potential offenders about the consequences of their actions.

Common Reasons Why Someone Might Leave the Scene of an Accident

A lot of factors can influence the reasoning behind fleeing the scene of an accident. Fear, panic, intoxication, lack of insurance, or outstanding legal issues are common factors that push drivers to leave the scene.

When Is an Arizona Hit-And-Run a Felony?

If you leave the scene of a hit-and-run without providing your information to the other party, you can be charged with a misdemeanor or felony in the state of Arizona. Hit-and-runs that resulted in property damage only could lead to 30 days of jail time or one year’s probation and a $500 fine.

A hit-and-run becomes a felony if the other party has suffered a severe injury or a fatality.

phoenix car accident lawyer

Arizona Penalties for Hit-and-Run Crashes

Type of Collision Penalties in Arizona Arizona Statutes
Damage to Non-Vehicle 30 Days Jail, One Year Probation, $500 Fine A.R.S. § 28-665
Damage to Parked Vehicle 30 Days Jail, One Year Probation, $500 Fine A.R.S. § 28-664
Property Damage Only Four Months Jail, Two Years Probation, $750 Fine A.R.S. § 28-662
Non-serious Injury 2.5 Years in Prison, Loss of License for Three Years A.R.S. § 28-661
Serious Injury or Death (if you did not cause the accident) 8.75 Years or More in Prison, Loss of License for Five Years A.R.S. § 28-661
Serious Injury or Death (if you caused the accident) 12.5 Years or More in Prison, Loss of License for 10 Years A.R.S. § 28-661


What Should I Do After a Hit-and-Run Accident?

The moments following a car crash can be emotional and downright scary. However, it’s important to remain as calm as you can. Make sure to take the right steps after a car accident by following our do’s and don’ts list.

The Do’s

  • Do Seek Medical Attention: Seek medical attention, no matter how minor you think your injuries are.
  • Do Gather Information: Gather information like the license plate number of the hit-and-run driver, a description of the vehicle, where they were headed, and any key information about the driver’s appearance.
  • Do Call the Police: The police will file a report, which can be used to build your case and achieve maximum compensation.
  • Do Collect Witness Statements: Collect statements from any eyewitnesses and obtain any surveillance camera footage.
  • Do Inform Your Insurance Company: Let your insurance company know that you’ve been involved in an accident.
  • Do Contact an Experienced Car Accident Attorney: Call an experienced car accident attorney. A skilled attorney can guide you through the legal processes, handle negotiations with insurance companies, and represent you in court if needed.

The Don’ts

  • Don’t Chase After the Driver: Chasing after the driver is dangerous and may result in an unsafe situation. Stay at the scene and wait for law enforcement.
  • Don’t Leave Before Law Enforcement Arrives: You need to be at the scene so the police can create a report of the accident.

How Do I Recover Damages After a Hit-And-Run Car Accident in Phoenix?

The best way to recover damages following a hit-and-run accident is to contact an experienced attorney. But before you call us, we need evidence. Recovering damages after a hit-and-run car accident relies heavily on evidence in the form of a police report, witness statements, pictures, and any information you can obtain from the other driver. This includes descriptions, locations, and license plate numbers.

hit and run accident in phoenix

What To Do if You Are Involved in a Hit-and-Run Accident in Phoenix

What If the Hit-And-Run Driver Is Never Located?

Unfortunately, most hit-and-run drivers are hard to locate. This is because hit-and-run accidents happen fast, and the at-fault driver usually flees the scene as fast as they can. If the driver is unable to be located, filing a claim becomes much more difficult. However, your policy may still provide coverage regardless if the driver can be found.

Call for a Free Consultation


You May Have Insurance To Cover a Phoenix Hit and Run

  • Uninsured Motorist (UM) Coverage
    This type of coverage provides coverage for bodily injuries and any property damage sustained by either you or your passengers.
  • Personal Injury Protection (PIP) Coverage
    Personal injury protection provides coverage up to $10,000 regardless of who is liable.
  • MedPay Coverage
    This coverage provides coverage for medical expenses regardless of who is at fault.

Your Attorney May Be Able To Identify Other Options for Coverage

If you’ve been involved in a hit-and-run accident, a personal injury attorney in Arizona may be able to recover damages even if the other driver can’t be located. Contact Shapiro Law Team to understand your recovery options in full following a hit-and-run.

Talk To a Phoenix Hit-and-Run Accident Lawyer About Your Case

A hit-and-run is a harrowing experience and can lead to lifelong frustrations and struggles. Let Shapiro Law Team take over your hit-and-run case to secure maximum compensation. We work on a contingency fee basis, which means you won’t pay us a dime unless we win. Get started with a free consultation from the car accident attorneys Phoenix trusts.

Free Consultation

  • All fields required *
  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.