chat text
Penalties for Driving Without Insurance in Arizona

Penalties for Driving Without Insurance in Arizona

Shapiro Law Team October 11, 2023 Car Accidents,Personal injury

If you’re an Arizona driver, you should know all drivers must have car insurance to drive legally in the state. Arizona has strict regulations to ensure all drivers have car insurance—and the consequences are costly for those who don’t. Continue reading to learn about the fines you could face if you’re caught driving without insurance.

Minimum Insurance Requirements In Arizona

Before we cover the penalties, let’s take a look at Arizona’s minimum insurance requirements. By Arizona law, all drivers must have the following insurance coverage:

  • $50,000 bodily injury liability coverage per accident
  • $25,000 bodily injury liability coverage per person
  • $15,000 property damage liability coverage per accident

Penalties for Driving Without Insurance

If you’re caught driving without insurance, the penalties could skyrocket up to $1,000. Here’s what you can expect per offense:

  1. Penalties for the First Offense
    If this is your first time getting pulled over and you fail to show proof of insurance, you must pay $500. In addition to this fine, the state will suspend your license, registration, and plates for three months. An SR-22 certificate may be required. However, if you can prove you have insurance later, the fine will be dismissed.
  2. Penalties for the Second Offense
    If this is your second offense within three years of your first offense, you must pay a fine of $750. Your driver’s license, registration, and plates will also be suspended for six months. There may be a requirement for an SR-22 certificate.
  3. Penalties for the Third and Subsequent Offenses
    Failure to show proof of insurance for a third time within three years of the two previous offenses will result in a fine of $1,000. Your driver’s license, registration, and plates will be taken for one year in addition to the fine. An SR-22 certificate is also required at this point.

Civil Consequences of Driving Without Insurance

Getting caught without insurance isn’t a jail sentence, but getting into an accident without the minimum required insurance opens up a whole new level of financial trouble.

Driving without any insurance means serious financial and legal consequences, alongside higher insurance premiums. Avoid the civil consequences of driving without insurance by making sure you meet the minimum requirements.

What Is an SR-22 Insurance?

In some cases, you may be required to obtain an SR-22 certificate. Also known as a Certificate of Financial Responsibility, this document proves you have acquired the necessary insurance coverage. Keep in mind that an SR-22 certificate is not automobile insurance. An SR-22 certificate is mandated in the state of Arizona.

Reducing or Eliminating the Fine

Driving without insurance will typically end up costing you more in fines than it would have to simply pay your insurance premium. However, if this is your first offense ever or your first offense in three years, you may be able to reduce or eliminate the fine.

Your chance of lowering or eliminating your fines is greater if you have no previous traffic violations or if you purchase the minimum auto insurance requirements. Consult with Shapiro Law Team to see how we can lower or eliminate your fine.

What Happens if You Get a Ticket for Driving Without Insurance?

You can expect a few different outcomes following a ticket for driving without insurance. For instance, if you have insurance but didn’t have the insurance card with you at the time of your ticket, your fine will be dismissed upon proof of insurance. But if you don’t have any insurance, you can expect some high-cost consequences. Even though driving without insurance isn’t a criminal offense, you are obligated to pay some pretty hefty fines.


What Happens if You Get Into a Car Accident Without Insurance in Arizona?

Getting into an accident without car insurance can turn into a financial pandamonium on your end. The other driver’s insurance can sue you for damages, your driving privileges will be suspended, and your license and registration will remain suspended until you pay the judgment.

1. If You Get Into an Accident

If you get into an accident without insurance coverage, all penalties will apply regardless of fault. Driving without insurance also makes it nearly impossible to recover any compensation during legal proceedings, leading to lasting consequences—especially if you are at fault.

2. If the Accident Is Your Fault

If you caused the accident, you must pay for all the damages out of your own pocket. This means you’re responsible for tens of thousands of dollars in damages, including hospital visits, medical bills, vehicle repairs, and more. This overwhelming debt could even result in bankruptcy,

3. Even if You Were Not at Fault or Only Partially at Fault

Consequences still apply regardless of whether you were partially responsible or not responsible at all. Arizona is a pure comparative negligence state, meaning you may only get a percentage of compensation depending on the percentage of your fault. However, if you were not responsible whatsoever, penalties will still apply, and you likely will not be able to recover maximum compensation.

Contact an Experienced Attorney at Shapiro Law Team

Driving without insurance is risky and could result in serious repercussions. Similarly, getting into an accident with an uninsured driver can cause chaos and a slew of headaches. Don’t try to navigate the complexities of auto insurance. Let our team take the reins. We’ll help you reduce or eliminate your fines and recover the maximum amount of compensation we can. Schedule a free consultation today.


Do you need car insurance in Arizona?
Yes, car insurance is required in Arizona.

Does AZ require proof of insurance?
Yes. However, your fines will be dismissed upon proof of insurance should you get ticketed.

How long can you drive without insurance after buying a car in Arizona?
Arizona has a new-car grace period of seven to 30 days before it becomes a traffic offense.

What is the penalty in Arizona for driving without insurance?
Penalties vary depending on the offense. If it’s your first offense, your fine will be $500. If it’s your third, your fine will be $1,000. You can also expect to have your driver’s license, registration, and plates suspended.

Does Arizona suspend your license for no insurance?
Yes, Arizona can suspend your license if you’re caught without insurance. The suspension period varies with each offense.

Free Consultation

  • All fields required *
  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.