In the event of a major collision, car seats and booster seats provide children with adequate protection. While most parents use car seats for infants and toddlers, they stop implementing such safety measures when children start school.
Whether due to the child’s request, or their lack of knowledge about the severe risks, failure to secure children in the proper safety seating results in thousands of deaths in Arizona.
All too often, children are gravely injured in auto accidents, and their parents seek compensation for negligence. Unfortunately, many findings result in an improperly installed car seat or lack of booster seat as the cause of the child suffering catastrophic injuries.
Let’s learn everything you need to know about requirements for child passenger safety in Arizona.
In 2012, legislation passed a law requiring children below 4 feet, 9 inches tall, or under the age of eight to remain in booster seating*. Before that decree, children as young as five were able to wear seatbelts in lieu of being in a protective booster or car seat.
Children younger than five are required to utilize a child safety restraint, better known as a car seat. When operating a motor vehicle in the state of Arizona you have a legal obligation to keep infants, toddlers, and children securely fastened at all times.
Unfortunately, we neglect this component of passenger safety the most. While it is important for an adult to also wear their seat belts, children are more at risk for injury when in a collision. Help your children buckle up.
As long as the child is under the age of two, she/he should remain facing towards the rear. After, they are able to face forwards.
When in a car seat:
If found to violate any part of this law, you’ll receive a fine of $50.
Arizona doesn’t enforce regulations of forward-facing car seating. However, to ensure your child remains as secure as possible, make sure you practice the following recommendations.
When in a booster seat:
When it comes to the car seat and booster seat laws in Arizona, no regulations or mandates are suggesting that either apparatus should be replaced. Generally speaking, each has a lifespan between five and seven years. But when it comes to the safety and wellbeing of your children, you can never be too careful.
Your children are the most precious things in the world. When you follow Arizona requirements for car seats and booster seats, you’re protecting them from dangers seen and unseen.
If your loved one has been injured in an auto collision that was not your fault, schedule a free consultation with the attorneys at Shapiro Law Team. We’ll build a compelling case, negotiate on your behalf, and obtain a settlement so you and your family can begin to heal and move past this unfortunate incident. If you’re seeking professional counsel, request a free consultation or stop by our Scottsdale or Pheonix office today.