If you or somebody you love has been injured in an accident caused by the careless or negligent actions of another individual, company, or entity, you should be entitled to various types of compensation for your losses. However, every personal injury case is different, and the total amount of compensation paid out for one claim may not necessarily mirror another claim, even for similar cases. Here, we want to discuss how much your personal injury claim may be worth. We will also cover the various types of compensation that may be available for your claim.
As we mentioned, no two personal injury claims in Arizona are exactly alike. That is why you will not find much solid data for compensation amount when you search terms such as “total compensation for my Arizona car accident” or “how much is my Arizona slip and fall accident worth?”
Without conducting a complete investigation into the facts and circumstances surrounding your particular claim, there is no way for an attorney to tell you how much compensation you should receive. Anyone who tells you that your claim is worth “X” or “Y” amount of dollars definitively may be leading you down the wrong path.
There are various factors that can affect the total value of a victim’s personal injury claim. This includes the following:
In some cases, punitive damages may be awarded to a victim. However, these damages are limited to instances when the at-fault party is found to have acted grossly negligent or intentionally in causing harm to the victim.
Many injury victims think that they cannot receive any compensation if they are partially at fault for causing the accident that led to their injuries. However, this is not true. Arizona operates under what is called a “pure comparative negligence” system. This means that an injury victim can still receive compensation for their injuries, even if they were partially at fault. In fact, Arizona’s laws allow victims to recover compensation if the victim is up to 99% at fault. This is much different from other states that only allow compensation if a victim is 50% or less at fault for the accident.
However, under this system, the total amount of compensation that a victim receives will be reduced based on their percentage of fault. For example, if a person sustains $100,000 in damages after a car accident in Arizona, but it is determined that they were 20% responsible for the incident, then they will receive $80,000 in total compensation, not the full $100,000.
If you have been injured due to the careless or negligent actions of another party, you should work with a skilled Scottsdale personal injury attorney as soon as possible. An attorney will be able to use their legal knowledge and resources to investigate your claim, determine liability, and help obtain maximum compensation.